Charmaine Chapman Leadership Society

Our foundation is deeply embedded in the St. Louis community. In 1994, Dr. Donald Suggs, publisher of The St. Louis American, recognized that Black leaders needed a voice in the philanthropic community in St. Louis. The Charmaine Chapman Leadership Society (CCS) has grown into the No. 1 philanthropic program for Black leaders in the nation.


By answering the call to help their neighbors in need, CCS members make a difference every day throughout our region.



Your investment directly improves the lives of thousands of local people. As a Charmaine Chapman Leadership Society member, you’ll:


Our Society embodies a culture of caring and giving. We empower our members to lift up one another and answer the call to make St. Louis a better place to live for everyone. It’s a part of our culture that to whom much is given, much is expected.


Our members are a community of individuals who make it their mission to be “a hand up” to others. Our Society focuses on fostering the next generation of Black leaders all while helping to make an impact in the St. Louis region.


Charmaine Chapman was the first woman and first Black woman to head United Way of Greater St. Louis as its president and chief executive officer. During her tenure, she led the organization to some of its greatest fundraising successes. As our Society’s namesake, we continue to honor her dream of building a better community and her passion for helping people.

Learn about our history

Your dollars matter


provides inhalers for 100 children with asthma


provides emergency assistance for 5 families during a crisis


provides job skills and training courses for 50 unemployed people to gain full-time employment

Member Criteria

Open to Black leaders who support Charmaine Chapman Leadership Society's mission and make an annual pledge of $1,000 or more to United Way of Greater St. Louis.

Learn More


The annual membership commitment for the Charmaine Chapman Leadership Society is a $1,000 donation to help people in the St. Louis region live their best possible lives.

Join Today

2021 Charmaine Chapman Leadership Society Cabinet



Mark and Vivian Darrell, Spire Energy



Lashanda Barnes, Citi

Adrian Bracy, YWCA

Carnecia Cole, Christian Hospital Northeast/Northwest

Brittany Cummings, BKD

Christina Dancy, Edward Jones

Jill Dixon Young, Community Advocate

Flint Fowler, Boys & Girls Clubs of Greater St. Louis

Kim Hawkins, US Bank

Francella Jackson, Village of Cahokia

Ann Marr, World Wide Technology, LLC

Nakeeta Miller, Ascension

David Noble, Midland States Bank

Monica Stewart, People’s Community Action Corporation

Brian Turner, Merrill Lynch

Kel Ward, St. Louis Children’s Hospital

Dara Webb, Civic Leader

Past Charmaine Chapman Leadership Society Chairs

2018-2019: Drs. Rick and Anita White


2016-2017: Keith Williamson and Ann Marr


2014-2015: Reuben and D’Anne Shelton


2012-2013: Brenda and Maurice Newberry


2010-2011: Richard Mark


2009: Michael and Gail Holmes


2007-2008: Lawrence E. Thomas and Deborah J. Patterson


2006: Lawrence E. Thomas


2004-2005: Johnny and Minga Furr


2002-2003: Arnold W. and Hazel Donald


2000-2001: David L. and Thelma E. Steward


1998-1999: John E. and Barbara S. Jacob


1997: Wayman F. Smith III


1996: David B. Price


1994-1995: Wayman F. Smith III

Charmaine Chapman Leadership Society Donor Relations Manager